Favorite sharpening method.

A place to share, learn, & show off sharpening tips, tricks, techniques, & tools for sharpening edges of all kinds.
User avatar
sparkyv
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 4:02 pm

Re: Favorite sharpening method.

Postby sparkyv » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:43 pm

I'm still "honing" my freehand skills, but the Lansky is my go-to.
μολὼν λαβέ

User avatar
JMAC
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 10:00 pm
Location: Clayton Ga

Re: Favorite sharpening method.

Postby JMAC » Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:08 pm

https://imgur.com/gallery/O0gdo0s

Plus one vote for old school.
NRA Member
Ain’t nothing better than having an old sharp carbon steel Case knife in your pocket.

User avatar
Twhite
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:29 am
Location: Burbank CA

Re: Favorite sharpening method.

Postby Twhite » Sat Jan 05, 2019 6:39 pm

JMAC wrote:https://imgur.com/gallery/O0gdo0s

Plus one vote for old school.


Nice Rocks you have there.

rpenland
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:11 pm

Re: Favorite sharpening method.

Postby rpenland » Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:20 am

I have a Case Moon Stick that I like to use. My grandpa was an avid Case knife collector and it was what he used.

User avatar
TripleF
Bronze Tier
Bronze Tier
Posts: 14171
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:42 pm
Location: West Central FL
Contact:

Re: Favorite sharpening method.

Postby TripleF » Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:25 pm

TripleF wrote:Freehand sharpener myself. I can only sharpen carbon at this point......


Based on this thread and my previous reply I thought....ya know, ya have to learn how to sharpen all knives....so I pulled
out my Lansky system to freehand sharpen my SS and CV knives and anything that ain't carbon and I discovered a new man!!!
SCOTT

2019 Knife Photography Calendar: https://www.cafepress.com/steelbrother1.592184508

Colonial Knife Company History ebook:
https://gumroad.com/l/ZLDb


Return to “Sharpening Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests