Open to some suggestions on a project

A place to share, learn, & show off sharpening tips, tricks, techniques, & tools for sharpening edges of all kinds.
treefarmer
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Open to some suggestions on a project

Post by treefarmer »

I like to keep my grandsons interested in real things. It is a bit difficult when they are up in Gwinnett County, GA 300 miles away. Mom and Dad are doing a great job keeping them focused on school, church, baseball, fishing and a little hunting.
I've been giving them knives for several years, birthdays and Christmas and any other occasion I can. This said they need to learn how to take care of their "users". I want to build a "kit" of knife care items for each of them so they can learn. I've obtained several NOS Old Cutler Muskrat knives that won't cut hot butter and will provide a fresh place to start to learn knife sharpening without destroying a more valuable knife. I thought I would polish one bolster with some Mother's Mag to show the difference it can make, include the Mothers in the kit, maybe a tube of Quick Release, some sort of sharpening system, maybe a whet rock with some instructions, etc. Box it up in some nice durable, reusable container and present one to each of them.
All that said, I'm open to suggestions on what to include in a knife care kit such as I describer.
Thanks for any input. :)
Treefarmer

A GUN IN THE HAND IS BETTER THAN A COP ON THE PHONE.
Doc B

Re: Open to some suggestions on a project

Post by Doc B »

Leather and wood...for making a strop?
Heretical Refurb / Mods of cheap old folders, since late 2018
Tony_Wood

Post by Tony_Wood »

TF,
This pouch is field expedient, and good for organizing “stuff.”
This is one that stays in the house for oiling. I have another that is for sharpening.
You could easily put such a kit together for maintenance and sharpening.
45B2DA27-090F-4763-9E3F-2F688BB0700F.jpeg
7854F286-6D5B-4C4E-91B9-1314BE57A2E6.jpeg