SHARP TALK

A place to share, learn, & show off sharpening tips, tricks, techniques, & tools for sharpening edges of all kinds.
tongueriver

SHARP TALK

Post by tongueriver »

What do you mean by sharp? When I touch a knife blade gently to a tender part of a warm finger and it threatens to draw blood I smile and say “sharp.” By this definition, approximately 4 of the 2000 knives I own qualify. What do you think? I may be exaggerating a little, but not much. I don’t think many people have a good idea of it. I receive knives from strangers and close acquaintances who assure me of the sharpness of the item and I end up just rolling my eyes. Most of them are about slightly above butter knife status. Now here is the irony- I am not good at sharpening knives. It is very frustrating, but I like to think that I know a sharp knife when I ‘feel’ it. I have had some mediocre luck at 1095 and CV but the stainless knives elude my skill.
Mumbleypeg
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: SHARP TALK

Post by Mumbleypeg »

Cal, I have historically had similar frustration with sharpening stainless steel. My results improved significantly when I switched to using diamond “stones”.

The sharpest knife I’ve seen is a custom fixed blade belonging to my son, which he acquired directly from the maker at a show. When he showed it to me I felt the edge with the pad of my thumb, as I’m accustomed to doing and have done over a thousand times. This one cut my thumb, just from barely touching it! It is the only knife I have encountered which I can truly honestly say was “scary sharp”.

I have to say, in general I find razor sharp on most knives to be overkill. A surgeon’s scalpel, a razor certainly, but not a pocket knife. JMO.

Ken
Member AKTI, TSRA, NRA.

If your religion requires that you hate someone, you need a new religion.

When the people fear their government, that is tyranny. When government fears the people, that is freedom.

https://www.akti.org/
Beavertail

Post by Beavertail »