Learning to spot a real Russell Barlow

A place to discuss & share pictures of anything that relates to knives.
jon_slider

Learning to spot a real Russell Barlow

Post by jon_slider »

I recently started learning about Russell Barlows and found a knife on Ebay being sold as a Russell that is fake. I believe it is fake because both the Dexter-Russell factory staff told me so, and also because Bernard Levine told me so.

Here is the fake, note the location of the center pin on the scale is not in the center. Russell factory staff told me the handle is a Camillus.

Here is a Camillus catalog photo, note the location of the center pin on the handle matches the position of the pin on the above knife

next here is a knife that belongs to Pertinux, posted on photo bucket. I have copied the photos to my library, but they are her photos. This knife has been certified as a genuine 1933-1941 curved tang stamp knife, by the Russell factory.

here is an earlier Russell Barlow with straight line tang stamp, that Bernard Levine told me was probably genuine

And here is a Russell Commemorative with Delrin scales. It is a modern knife, not an original Russell from 1875 to 1941.

So far I have learned that before 1933 Russell used straight tang stamps, after 1933, until 1941, they used the curved tang stamp. The fakes, German replicas, and commemoratives, all use curved tang stamps.

There are several features of Small Russell Barlows that I am learning to distinguish.
1. The location of the center pin on the handle should be in the middle of the scale, not closer to the bolster. However, commemoratives have centered pins, as do some 1967-1971 German replicas.
2. The pins should be steel, not brass
3. The bolster on an original Small Russell Barlow is Iron, not nickel silver.