Anybody Know About Metal Detectors?

If you can think of something to talk about that is not related to knives, discuss it here.
9ball

Anybody Know About Metal Detectors?

Post by 9ball »

It is kinda wet outside, so I am going to work in today. Don't tell the Boss I am back on that knife website. :)

I have been interested in a nice metal detector for some time. I owned a Realistic/Radio Shack years ago, it was more of a toy.
One of the coin shops I do business with carry "White" brand, so he will sell me that for sure.

Most people I have talked with are kinda vague on the subject, John Swift passed through. :lol:
I have searched on the web also, but just not sure what I am looking at.

What do I need to be looking for? I had rather go ahead and spend the money and buy a good one.

I appreciate any advice or referrals

9ball
My Oath as an American Army Soldier did not come with an expiration date.
nifenut

Post by nifenut »

9ball,

I am far from an expert on metal detectors but I have owned two. Both were Bounty Hunter brand. They cost about $250 each. I understand that Garrett makes some professional models that cost quite a bit more.

I have used mine for coins, KNIVES, rings and lots and lots of pull tabs.

If you're new to it, you'll think you should have bought a backhoe to go along with the detector ::tired::

Good luck,

nifenut (Jim)
9ball

Post by 9ball »

Thanks Nifenut,

I figured the digging part. I will be using one around old home sites, Civil War encampments, etc.
Around here you will find more copper tubing than pull tabs. ::nod::

Thanks again for your time.
9ball
Mossdancer
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

metal detector

Post by Mossdancer »

Hey 9 Ball;
If you can hold on for a few days, I can get some info to you, My wifes detector is on loan due back this week sometime. Got it mail order from youe neck of the woods I think. It was a good price, a good product and fast service. It is a Garrett.