Clauss, Freemont Ohio

This forum is dedicated to the discussion and display of old knives. The rich history of all the many companies that made them through the early years will be found here as well as many fine examples of the cutlers art. Share pictures of your old knives and your knowledge here!
Dilligas

Clauss, Freemont Ohio

Post by Dilligas »

Does anyone know of any information on vintage Clauss knives? I know the majority of them were manufactured by Case and Schatt & Morgan. The only information I have been able to find is in Jim Sargent's books. I have been collecting them for a few years and would like to get as much information as possible. Here is most of my Clauss collection.
Attachments
IMG_1601.JPG
Picture 040.jpg
IYAAYAS
FRJ

Re: Clauss, Freemont Ohio

Post by FRJ »

Dilligas,
here's something from Goins book.

Nice knives!
Attachments
001.JPG
002.JPG
Copy of 002.JPG
Joe
trail

Post by trail »

Dilligas, congratulations on putting together a nice collection of an unusual and seldom seen brand. I wouldn't be surprised if you had one of the best collections of Claus knives around. How did you get interested in them? Did you find most of them in one hoard, or have you been adding them one by one over the years?

Whoever would have thought that Fremont OH was once known as "the Cutlery Center of the World," with 25 cutlery companies at it's peak? Here is some information from the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center:

"Harry L. Zimmerman, (1869-1959) an early Sandusky County, Ohio businessman, initially operated the Tick-Mitten Company until he and Paul Schaaf purchased the Henkel Company in 1913. Schaaf, perhaps the owner of Schaaf's Good Cutlery, and Harry Zimmerman bought out the interests of their three Henkel Company partners, Dr. George Zimmerman, August Henkel, and Frank Kiser. The five men had founded Henkel in 1906. In 1919, Henkel Company merged with Clauss Shear to become the largest cutlery company in the world.