Remington Scout R3843 Bail Repair

This forum is for those who like to repair and restore knives, and for those who would like to learn.
Dadumpsterdiver

Remington Scout R3843 Bail Repair

Post by Dadumpsterdiver »

Good Afternoon!

I have a Remington R3843 which is in fine condition, save a bail which is completely detached from the knife. If this were a simple straight pinning job, I could handle it, but theses bails are attached with 2 small pins, and I have no experience doing this. So my question is - Is there anyone here who would be willing to help me out with doing a professional job, either for monetary compensation or trade?

Thanks - Bill
ScoutKnives

Re: Remington Scout R3843 Bail Repair

Post by ScoutKnives »

It should be a single pin running threw a brass tube , definitely not a two piece connection at the bail , unless someone previously modified it ?
Always looking for Mint pre war scout knives
Meridian_Mike

Post by Meridian_Mike »

Got a picture?
Those are always worth a few hundred words.
Then maybe we can give some advice.

::shrug::
"Life is tough.... but it's tougher if you're stupid."....John Wayne
orvet
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by orvet »

I believe the tube is 1/16" an the pin is 1/32".

They are not horribly difficult, I have done a few but the arthritis in m my hands won't allow me to do any knife work at present.

Hardest part is locating the pin and tubing. I have found them in hardware stores in the past.
Dale
AAPK Administrator

Please visit my AAPK store: www.allaboutpocketknives.com/orvet

Job 13:15

"Buy more ammo!" - Johnnie Fain
“Evil is Powerless If The Good are Unafraid.” – Ronald Reagan
Dadumpsterdiver

Thanks all - the reason I postulated that it was 2 pins is because I can see no light through the pin hole and there seems to be an obstruction - Possibly the tube is lodged in there? Pictures coming when I am able.

Bill
Meridian_Mike

Post by Meridian_Mike »

Yep, what is left of the pin may be lodged in the tube.