Blade Peek

A place to ask or answer knife related questions.
Chris Pizzini

Blade Peek

Post by Chris Pizzini »

I've been collecting for a couple of years and I'm learning something everyday. Blade peek... What causes blade peek? What is the best way to correct if it can be?
Railsplitter
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Blade Peek

Post by Railsplitter »

I assume you are talking about the tip of the blade sticking up above the liner with the blade closed.

If that's the case then you can fix that by filing the kick down gradually. The kick is the section of the tang that contacts the back spring when the blade is closed.

There are some risks involved. Go slowly and check the position of the closed blade often. You don't want to remove too much of the kick. Also, there is a risk of creating blade rap. That's when the edge contacts the back spring upon closing causing a nick in the sharpened edge.
Rick T.

"My knife money maketh itself wings!" mb>

Proud member of the Buck Collectors Club Inc.
Doc B

Post by Doc B »

I too assume, that's what your referring to. Before you file down the tang...check to make sure there isn't lint in the bottom of the well, that has packed down, preventing it from proper closure. I almost filed on a tang, when I first asked this question...and it was only lint. If it's not lint...I believe the combination of sharpening and tang wear may contribute to it. I'd guess that one of the most common causes is a tipped blade being reprofiled, leaving a new "tip", that appears higher than the original. Many times it can be corrected by filing the tang, to get it to seat deeper. On multi bladed knives...you may want to think it out...before you file it. Will dropping the tip cause the nail nick to disappear? Will dropping the blade expose or hinder access to other blades? Will it cause "blade rap", where the blade hits the backspring, creating a dinged edge? Just a few of my observations.
BTW welcome to AAPK ::welcome::