How far do you go?

A place to ask or answer knife related questions.
carpx

How far do you go?

Post by carpx »

I primarily collect old Gerber folders. Many have brass and wood handles, and of course tarnish is a serious condition. I sometimes buy several knives to get the Gerber I want and have accumulated several such as a Camillus electricians knife that cleaned up to look almost unused. On the other side of the coin I see some who say you should leave the "patina" intact. I have been sharpening knives with whet stones for 50 years, and can put a shaving edge on a knife without leaving a single scratch on the blade, and I do so with every knife I own. I also use 600 grit sandpaper and jewelers rouge to remove discoloration and superficial black spots. That's about as far as I care to go with a knife, and don't feel I am hurting the value of a vintage knife, after all they are a tool, and should be kept in the same condition you would a micrometer or precision scale.
Mumbleypeg
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: How far do you go?

Post by Mumbleypeg »

A question hashed and re-hashed here on AAPK. Here are some links to prior discussions on the topic. viewtopic.php?f=37&t=54157

Ken
Member AKTI, TSRA, NRA.

If your religion requires that you hate someone, you need a new religion.

When the people fear their government, that is tyranny. When government fears the people, that is freedom.

https://www.akti.org/
Case V42
Bronze Tier
Bronze Tier

Post by Case V42 »

I also collect pre-Fiskars Gerbers. My common practice is to leave any knife with handle chips, nicks, and wear as found. Nothing looks worse than a well-used knife that has been "shined up". Sort of like putting make-up on a pig. However, if I acquire an otherwise like new knife with tarnished brass I will use a little Flitz to bring back some sparkle.
carpx

Post by carpx »