Where was it made and what is the name of the company

A place to ask or answer knife related questions.
Runted

Where was it made and what is the name of the company

Post by Runted »

I hate it when I get a knife that I can't identify. It happens all of the time but I still hate it.
I recently purchased a lot of knives from an auction site and this one has me stumped.
It is not a high quality knife more of a working mans knife. The blade is stamped with what
looks to be the name JILKHUSH CUTLERY. I have looked high and low and have not found anything
yet. Of course I could be looking for the wrong name as the first letters are pretty light.
The handles are checkered wood and the bolsters are just plain sheet metal.

If any of you have any ideas please let me know. The value of the knife is minimal its just I hate
to not know.
IMG_4416.JPG
IMG_4420.JPG
Thanks for looking.
steve99f

Re: Where was it made and what is the name of the company

Post by steve99f »

I'm no expert but based on the two pictures, if i had to bet, I'd say it came from Pakistan or some other 'stan. The quality of construction points me in that direction.
steve99f
kootenay joe

Post by kootenay joe »

The checkered handles do not look like the handles seen on knives from Pakistan that i have seen. Looks more like old British ?
kj
treefarmer
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by treefarmer »

Could the "J" maybe have been a "D" as some of the other letters of the stamp are not complete but assumed? The name Dilkhush will get you some response leading to India. ::shrug::
Treefarmer

A GUN IN THE HAND IS BETTER THAN A COP ON THE PHONE.
kootenay joe

Post by kootenay joe »

treefarmer wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 6:24 pm Could the "J" maybe have been a "D" as some of the other letters of the stamp are not complete but assumed? The name Dilkhush will get you some response leading to India. ::shrug::
Treefarmer
I think you are right ! The first letter could well be a "D".
kj
Runted

Post by Runted »