Deer Antlers

This is a place for posting non-knife related items you have available for trade. If you see something you want, be sure to make a trade offer. Your offer can include a knife, knives, or pretty much anything within the limits of the law.
keithlong

Deer Antlers

Post by keithlong »

I am looking for some deer antlers. I know that some of you here use them for knife handles, and a lot of you know that I make ink pens from them. I have been making pens for 10 years now and while this past year I have been under the weather due to an automobile accident Mother's Day 2018, I did mange to make a few pens. I am in need of some deer antlers. I am wanting to trade a nice pen made from antler for some antler. So if you have some lying around and are not going to use em, please let me know.
KeithLLong

It does not cost any more to carry a sharp knife than it does to carry a dull knife
kootenay joe

Re: Deer Antlers

Post by kootenay joe »

What size antler works best ? slender tine ? or a thicker one ? And what length do you need to make a pen ?
kj
keithlong

Post by keithlong »

Hey KJ, thicker ones do better and length from 3 -6 inches long, also can use slightly curved pieces.
KeithLLong

It does not cost any more to carry a sharp knife than it does to carry a dull knife
kootenay joe

Post by kootenay joe »

I have lots of whitetail antlers and a few elk, but i live in Canada and it is illegal for antler to enter USA without permission from 2 Federal Departments. I once had some antlers i had sawed up to fit into a fairly big box and was driving to Northport, WA. to mail them to Bruce Bump. The USA border guard refused me entry until i took the antlers back into Canada and left them there.
kj
Doc B

Post by Doc B »