AG RUSSEL - WHARNCLIFFE deal

Whether we like them or loath them, Chinese manufactured knives have found their way into collections of all sorts across the entire globe. The intent of this forum is to offer a place where AAPK members can discuss the knives and not the politics.
Lansky1

AG RUSSEL - WHARNCLIFFE deal

Postby Lansky1 » Fri Apr 05, 2019 12:53 pm

I'm new to AG Russel knives ... I found this auction & had to share the joy for anyone who likes wharncliffe's... almost seems too good to be true ::shrug::

I ordered one (don't have it yet) ... will post a review when I get it: https://www.ebay.com/itm/173849650868?ul_noapp=true

Can anyone shed some light on this line of AG Russel chinese made knives ... I've read some of their knives are really solid, and some command much higher prices on eBay ... just not sure how this one fits into the AG Russel heirarchy of quality ...

aaaaaaaaa.JPG
pffffft that's not a knife ......... now THAT'S a knife !! Crocodile Dundee

John

doglegg
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: AG RUSSEL - WHARNCLIFFE deal

Postby doglegg » Fri Apr 05, 2019 1:18 pm

I look forward to you opinion of it. It looks good. ::tu::

jerryd6818
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Postby jerryd6818 » Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:17 pm

John, that's A.G.Russell's "Curved Regular Jack". A.G. brought that knife out about eight or nine years ago. Unless something's changed, it's 3-5/8" closed and at the time it sold for $60. Rick (Railsplitter) gave one away on the CollectorKnives Forum back in September of 2011 and I won it. It's a very nice knife (or at least the one I won was) with superb fit and finish. At the time, I had my nose way up in the air vis-a-vie Chinese knives and just couldn't get past the "China" stamped on the tang so I traded it off. I've regretted that decision ever since.
Attachments
AG Russell Curved Regular Jack - Traded Off.jpg
AG Russell Curved Regular Jack  Top.jpg
AG Russell in hand.jpg
Forged on the anvil of discipline.
The Few. The Proud.
Jerry D.