Two old Western whittlers compared.

In 1911, H. N. Platts, was able to draw on his extensive friendships and family connections in the cutlery world to start Western States Cutlery and Manufacturing of Boulder Colorado. At first only a jobbing business, by 1920 construction and machinery purchases were underway to begin manufacture of knives. Through name changes--to Western States Cutlery Co. in 1953, then Western Cutlery Co. in 1956--and moves first across town and later to Longmont Colorado, the company stayed under the leadership of the Platt family until 1984. In that year, the company was sold to Coleman, becoming Coleman-Western. Eventually purchased by Camillus in 1991, Western continued until Camillus expired in 2007.
Colonel26
Bronze Tier
Bronze Tier

Two old Western whittlers compared.

Post by Colonel26 »

Gentlemen, I'm still learning about these old Western knives. I love them, and man what steel, but the more I fool with them the more I'm convinced I'll never become an expert, lol. Here I have two two old whittlers. One that I know is the real deal is marked 461, so that's what I'll call them.

The first one comes to me from Coffeecup, the real expert. It has well worn blades and a big ol hunk missing out of the handle on one side that's been filled with paint. But man does it get sharp, it's tight, snappy, and a real nice edc. As you can see it has a shield, it's marked Western Boulder Colo made in USA.

The second one has no shield, is marked Western Boulder Colo, and has no pattern number. Now Coffeecup has informed me on another knife that not having a pattern number marked is not an uncommon thing with older westerns, so that doesn't concern me so much. Here are my questions.

1) Are both knives from the same time period? I ask because of the different tang stamps. If not which would you say is older?