Shapleigh Hardware Push Button

If you like Automatic knives, this is the forum to discuss and display them.
hardman
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Shapleigh Hardware Push Button

Post by hardman »

I recently picked this up. I have collected knives a long time, and always wanted one of these old autos. From the patent dates on the back of the tang, I surmise this knife was made by Schrade. It has patent dates of Feb 13, 1906 and February 23, 1907. The front tang reads Shapleigh Hardware with a diamond shape that has a "DE" embedded. I assume that stands for Diamond Edge. the knife measures about 4 7/8" long closed, and the blade is about 3 3/4" Nice green/brown handles with only a single crack on the pile side. I assume the blade has been polished given its shine and some rounded edges on the swedge. The action works extremely well for its age. and the safety lock works well too. There is a little up/down play in the blade when in the open position.

While I have a lot of knowledge in other areas, this is new ground for me. Can anyone tell me any more about this knife? Age? Anything at all would be welcome. Thanks in advance.
Attachments
20190526_192502.jpg
20190526_192443.jpg
20190526_192408.jpg
20190526_192334.jpg
Gary

"Now it cuts like a knife, but it feels so right." Bryan Adams
gsmith7158
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Shapleigh Hardware Push Button

Post by gsmith7158 »

Wow that looks great! The bone is outstanding. I know little to nothing about these old Schrade switches but I do know a good looking knife when I see one. ::tu:: ::tu::
------------------

Greg

IF YOU AIN'T BUYING OR LOOKING AT A KNIFE THEN YOU AIN'T LIVING.
Always looking to buy good quality Empire knives.

PROUD MEMBER AAPK, NRA.
tongueriver

Post by tongueriver »

Page 57, Schrade CutCo Catalog E.
switch001.jpg
doglegg
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by doglegg »

Nothing about that knife I don't like. Great bones and condition. A switch. Wow! ::tu:: ::tu::
clockman

Post by clockman »