1920's Italian stiletto

If you like Automatic knives, this is the forum to discuss and display them.
noodle

1920's Italian stiletto

Post by noodle »

Upon the recent death of my father, a WW2 Army vet, I was given a switchblade owned by my grandfather. He served in the US Navy aboard the USS Alden during 1920-23. In addition to the stiletto I was given photos, a naval diary, and other souvenirs of his trips aboard that ship. (In addition I was also given a 1890-1920 era Bowie type hunting knife with stag handle) The ships record and his diary confirm being in Italy numerous times. My grandfather had told my father, older siblings, and myself that the stiletto knife was acquired at that time.

I admit I am no expert in knives. I would appreciate any info I can get from those in the know about this type of piece.
The only marking I have found is Maniago on the base of the blade. As you can see one side is missing a layer from the stag.
The knife is exactly as I received it. It is tight and works well.
I would appreciate any info related as to the specifics about this knife, as to care, opinions about restoration/repairs (if any), value range, and whatever else is deemed pertinent. To me it is a sentimental piece but I would appreciate knowing as much as possible.
Thanks in advance.
Attachments
msf1.jpg
msf2.jpg
msf3.jpg
msf4.jpg
msf5.jpg
msf6.jpg
msf7.jpg
msf8.jpg
msf9.jpg
msf10.jpg
noodle

Re: 1920's Italian stiletto

Post by noodle »

More pics
Attachments
msf11.jpg
msf12.jpg
Bill DeShivs

Post by Bill DeShivs »

You have a very fine example.
It does not need restoring, but you should wipe the steel parts down with WD 40 and a cloth. The little chunk of missing stag is inconsequential.
What is the length, open?

There are people who troll these forums looking for exactly what you have. Be careful dealing with them. Your knife is very valuable-more so than you might think.
Bill DeShivs, Master Cutler

Factory authorized repair for:
Latama
Mauro Mario
LePre